The main page "Petrozavodsk - 300" 2003 - 300 Petrozavodsk "Karelia" The official government server
The Russian versionThe Finnish version
The main page "Petrozavodsk - 300"

The pages of the History The Republic of Karelia Today Glance into the Future News of the Site

The City Peasant's House


In Petrozavodsk there is not too many buildings that became the card of the capital of Karelia. They are the ensemble of the Round Square, hotel "Severnaya", "Kuusinen's Palace", the main post office building... And among the wooden buildings there are the building of "Karelles" opposite to "Severnaya" and, certainly, - the former Peasant's House on Gogl str., 6. This log tower as they used to sayr, "characterizes the city". Now, when the object is literally "near death" after the fire in September, many have paid attention to it and have become interested in its destiny. It is almost the eve of its anniversary: March 14 the final design approval of the Peasant's House (PH) has turned 75 years.

National construction has failed

The house is nominally V.I.Lenin's monument. I.e. after the death of the leader N.K.Krupskaia has advised the work people of Karelia not to install the "cold idol" (in due course her advice had been ignored all the same), but the socially useful building embodying one of the basic Lenin's precepts. Actually, it was not the original offer inverted particularly to the capital of the AKSSR. The action was all-Russian, and the country was supposed to become covered by the network of Peasant's Houses. In two years more than two hundred cities, without counting Moscow, have already got such buildings. Only in August 1926 Karelia could summon its strength and has appointed the competitive commission to design the PH.

Its basic purpose was to give temporary shelter to peasants carrying their surplus production in the city for free sale (it has been period of NEP (New Economic Policy)!) and wishing to get manufactured goods, seeds and breeding cattle. The ideology of creation of the network of such Houses was based on Lenin's precept to make of the muzhik (the Russian peasant) the cultural owner. For this purpose it was supposed to provide visitors with not only hotel rooms: 5 rooms for 6 persons each and 5 rooms for 4 persons, each, but also library and lecture hall. Additionally it was necessary to provide an agricultural pavilion, two stables for 30 horses, a canopy for carts, a shed for exhibitions and other household buildings. Taking into account all-Karelian value of the construction and constant shortage of money in the republican budget, the government has tried to collect at least half of means due to donations. But the widely massive campaign has brought so insignificant results that they have decided to count only budgetary financing.

Neighboring the Lutheran church

By the beginning of 1927 the commission has already summed up the results. The first place and the premium of 800 roubles has won the project of the citizen of Leningrad P.M.Rozenbluma.

What has attracted the commission in his project? Basically it was the splendid light and shade game on the main facade of the timbered building stylized like traditional wooden buildings of the Russian North. For all this the author was forgiven even too abrupt roof visually pressing the facade, irrationality decorative small balcony (widespread, by the way, in Northern Russian architecture), open to snow and rain, and other minor defects.

The Russian antique stylization has frankly appeared to be in the contradiction full with Gothic lancet windows of the Lutheran church, which stood near the building site and by then already became the property of the state. Therefore, the problem had been solved "surgically", having moved the church a hundred meters deeper into the garden and having turned the facade to Zakamenskaya str. (nowadays shop "Country-color"). The design stage was completed on March 14, 1927. The turn of the construction has come traditionally compared to the Russian way of movement when they take long time harnessing, but ride quickly.

Help of GULAG and participation of Myshev the master

Being educated in the European style the government of the AKSSR wanted PH to possess even elementary convenience, i.e. plumbing and sanitary that in Petrozavodsk was present, perhaps, only in provincial hospital. Security officers have advised to address directly in MSCSA (Management of Solovetsky camps of special assignment) to comrade Naftuliy Frenkel. There are (imprisoned) all kinds of experts who cheaply will make the project and will mount the equipment. The answer has amazed with the figure making almost a quarter of the budgetary estimate. They have tried then the enterprise "Hydraulics" in Leningrad, the joint-stock company "Heating and Power": everywhere it was expensive, too.

Rashly they have decided even to exclude the waterpipe, the water drain and the central heating, but then all the same have thought again and have concluded the contract with "Hydraulics". Simply with a view of economy they have decided, for example, to put not three, but one coating of drying oil on the floors, to ceil with usual deal board instead of shaped, and finish drying of the battens quickly. The PH was built by "drastic" carpenters, who by two artels have arrived from Galich the Kostroma regions. Therefore, the felling itself was stacked very qualitatively, as has been confirmed by the recent inspection of the experts in restoring. Logs were not only carefully hewn in the butt parts, but also beard "in a ring" as it was written down in the document (being expressed by the modern language - cylindered). Participation of the legendary M.K.Myshev, the hero of the "Kizhi stories" by V.Pulkina, as the head of the artel was not confirmed documentary. Even if he participated in construction of the PH, then rather on supporting roles as his small artel at that time specialized on joining and repair works in apartments of heads of the AKSSR.

The House though with subquality work, had been put in commission on March 11, 1929, two years after the constructions was started, and transferred on its balance all hotel utensils from transient PH in the house of members of higher orders of clergy (nowadays the House of officers).

Why does the peasant need a water closet?

Literally at the second day it became clear that 63 places for lodgers do not satisfy even a quarter of true needs. Frequently up to 150 persons were stacked on a lodging for the night on the floor in the lecture hall there. The kitchen and a dining room did not cope with wishful crowd, which took seat for tables in caps and fur coats, smoked makhorka, stole forks and spoon for souvenirs took, and treated the servants excessively considerately. There was no place to leave clothes and knapsacks, and without supervision they were pilfered by the merciless swindlers, whom there were plenty at that time.

The yard of the PH quickly had began to be used for absolutely not cultural and educational purposes. There was a water closet for three places available in the house, but only the employees of the House could use it (the water drain, by the way, it was removed through a primitive sediment bowl directly into Lososinka river). It is possible to imagine what at all very secluded corners of the territories looked like. At once there has risen a question on construction of a hostel for at least 150 places.

The idea of the Peasant's House by the end of its construction already appeared to be irrelevant. NEP was replaced by the period of collectivization, which has put forward other tasks based on principles of nationalization of agricultural production. The general line now was different - to drive upwards the interest of collectivization.

Why the writer Paustovsky refused to stay in the PH

Even officials already hesitated to call the Peasant's House by Lenin's name. It has begun to live its every day life, which suited only the most unpretentious visitors of Petrozavodsk. Library and the lecture hall have been squeezed together or used on completely different purpose that has increased capacity of the PH by 20 places.

A young writer Konstantin Paustovsky, who has arrived in 1932 could stand the stay in the House just for one day. For all that he very much liked it in its outward appearance - the Moscow visitor has marked originality of the architectural plan and quality of its realization. But barracks density of various people so oppressed him that the rest of the week related to search of a material for his future book about Onega Plant Paustovsky has spent in the other place. For this reason the visitors coming to the capital of Karelia from Moscow, Leningrad or from abroad stopped in departmental numbers or in the apartments of the leading comrades.

For the first half-year of 1933 the Petrozavodsk Peasant's House has receive in total about 2 thousand collective farmers and about 200 sole proprietors. But it has sheltered about four thousand Soviet office workers sent on business, almost one thousand of them were from outside of the republic. I.e. it carried out functions of the most usual hotel. The similar metamorphosis has happened with the others PH in Russia.

Petrozavodsk Peasant's House with the beginning of the Soviet-Finnish war had been transferred under the jurisdiction of the people's commissariat of defense. By this time construction of new city hotel for 200 places had been achieved in Petrozavodsk, thus the PH as the house of visitors was not necessary. After the war the Karelian-Finnish Drama Theatre and then a philarmonic society were located there...

Has burned at work

Our former Peasant's House has burnt on September 11, the day of air attack of New York. And attempt against the PH is in the number of the whole series of arsons in the center of Petrozavodsk. The part of the building rented at the center of National Creativity by the owners of the bar due to which, they speak, the real owners of the building (the Ministry of Culture) made ends meet, has lit up. If the flame has burnt the house up to the basis, its destiny would be solved unequivocally: to clear the place away and construct something very necessary and modern. Indeed, the place is very attractive being located in city center and on spacious picturesque coast of Lososinka. But the building is just partly destroyed by fire, therefore the discussion about its future has become prolonged.

In brief the position of architects, artists, historians and regional specialists is the following. It is impossible to lose such wooden ornament to city. But no money is expected for its restoration, too. They offer the following way out. Let the house along with the land be exhibited for sale. But the one who purchases it should build the office (restaurant, club, hotel, etc.) with preservation of the ex-terrier, i.e. appearance of the building of the period of 1929. At this particular time the house represented the most organic realization of the architectural plan of its author.

Let the internal lay-out be of any kind, let them fill the house with the first class modern equipment, but keep its original appearance, dear future owners! Because whatever were the failures in use of the unique building within all years of its history, it is valuable for us by the unique original shape. No modern and strong building on its place will ever fill the loss of neatly realized tower in the national architectural style.

Nickolai Kutkov


Created November 16, 2000
Last Updated June 17, 2003
© The Administration of the Head of the Government of RK

Перейти на главную страницу сайта "Петрозаводск - 300 лет" в 2003 году исполняется 300 лет городу Петрозаводск Региональный сервер "Карелия" Официальный сервер органов государственой власти Республики Карелия
Английская версияФинская версия
Перейти на главную страницу сайта "Петрозаводск - 300 лет"

Страницы истории Карелия сегодня Взгляд в будущее Новое на сайте

Городской дом крестьянина

Иллюстрации

В Петрозаводске не так уж много домов, ставших визитной карточкой столицы Карелии. Ансамбль Круглой площади, гостиница "Северная", "Дворец Куусинена", здание главпочтамта... А из деревянных строений - здание "Кареллеса", что напротив "Северной", и, безусловно, - бывший Дом крестьянина на ул. Гоголя, 6. Этот рубленый терем, как говаривали раньше, "сообщает физиономии города характерное выражение". Сейчас, когда объект находится буквально "при смерти" после сентябрьского пожара, многие обратили на него внимание и заинтересовались его судьбой. Можно сказать, в канун юбилея: 14 марта исполняется ровно 75 лет окончательному утверждению проекта Дома крестьянина (ДК).

Народной стройки не получилось

Дом этот номинально является памятником В.И. Ленину. Т.е. после смерти вождя Н.К. Крупская посоветовала трудящимся Карелии поставить не "хладного кумира" (со временем ее совет все-таки проигнорировали), а общественно-полезное здание, воплощающее один из основных ленинских заветов. Собственно, это было не оригинальное предложение, обращенное конкретно к столице АКССР. Акция была общероссийская - страна должна была покрыться целой сетью Домов крестьянина. Через два года более двухсот городов, не считая Москвы, уже обзавелись такими строениями. Карелия лишь в августе 1926 г. могла собраться с силами и назначила конкурсную комиссию на проектирование ДК.

Основное его назначение - дать временный приют крестьянину, везущему в город излишки продукции на вольную продажу (нэп!) и желающему приобрести промтовары, семена и племенной скот. Идеология создания сети таких Домов основывалась на ленинском завете сделать из мужика культурного хозяина. Для этого предполагалось обеспечить приезжих не только гостиничными номерами: 5 комнат на 6 человек и 5 комнат на 4 человека, но также библиотекой и лекционным залом. Плюс к основному зданию надо было предусмотреть сельхозпавильон, две конюшни на 30 лошадей, навес для возов, сарай для выставок и прочие хозпостройки. Учитывая всекарельское значение строительства и постоянную нехватку денег в республиканском бюджете, правительство попыталось собрать хотя бы половину средств за счет добровольных пожертвований. Но широко развернутая кампания принесла столь ничтожные результаты, что реально рассчитывать решили только на бюджетное финансирование.

Соседство с лютеранской киркой

К началу 1927 г. комиссия уже подвела итоги. Первое место и премию 800 рублей завоевал проект ленинградца П.М. Розенблюма.

Что привлекло комиссию в его проекте? В основном - богатая игра света и тени на главном фасаде бревенчатого здания, стилизованного под традиционные деревянные строения Русского Севера. За это автору простили даже слишком крутую кровлю, зрительно давившую фасад, нерациональность декоративного балкончика (широко распространенного, кстати, в северноорусском зодчестве), открытого снегу и дождю, и прочие мелкие недочеты.

Стилизация под русскую старину оказалась, правда, в полном противоречии с готическими стрельчатыми окнами лютеранской кирки, которая стояла рядом со строительной площадкой и к тому времени уже стала собственностью государства. Поэтому проблему решили "хирургически", передвинув кирку метров на сто вглубь сада и развернув фасадом к ул. Закаменской (ныне магазин "Кантри-колор"). Проектный этап завершен был 14 марта 1927 г. Настал черед строительства, традиционно сравниваемого с русским способом передвижения, когда долго запрягают, но быстро ездят.

Помощь ГУЛАГа и участие мастера Мышева

Европейски образованное правительство АКССР хотело, чтоб ДК имел хотя бы элементарные удобства, т.е. водопровод и канализацию, что в Петрозаводске имелось, пожалуй, только в губернской больнице. Чекисты посоветовали обратиться прямо в УСЛОН (Управление Соловецких лагерей особого назначения) к товарищу Нафтулию Френкелю. У него есть (сидят) специалисты всякого профиля, которые задешево сделают проект и смонтируют оборудование. Ответ изумил цифрой, составляющей едва ли не четверть всей сметы. Сунулись в ленинградскую "Гидравлику", в АО "Тепло и сила": везде так же дорого.

Сгоряча решили даже исключить водопровод, канализацию и центральное отопление, но потом все-таки одумались и заключили договор с "Гидравликой". Просто в целях экономии полы постановили, например, олифить не на три, а на один раз, потолки подшивать не фасонной, а обычной вагонкой, а половую доску досушивать на скорую руку. Строили ДК "крутые" плотники, две артели которых набрали в г. Галиче Костромской области. Поэтому сам сруб уложен был очень качественно, что и подтвердило недавнее его обследование специалистами-реставраторами. Бревна были не только тщательно притесаны в комлевой части, но и отесаны "в кольцо", как записано в документе (выражаясь современным языком, - оцилиндрованы). Участие легендарного М.К.Мышева, героя "Кижских рассказов" В. Пулькина, в качестве главы артели документально не подтверждено. Если он и участвовал в строительстве ДК, то скорее на второстепенных ролях, поскольку его артелка специализировалась в то время на столярных и ремонтных работах в квартирах руководителей АКССР.

Дом хоть и с недоделками, но сдали 11 марта 1929 г., ровно через два года после начала строительства, передав на его баланс всю гостиничную утварь из временного ДК в архиерейском доме (ныне Дом офицеров).

Зачем крестьянину ватер-клозет?

Буквально на второй же день стало ясно, что 63 места для постояльцев не удовлетворяют и четверти истинных потребностей. Зачастую на полу в лекционном зале укладывались на ночлег до 150 человек. Кухня и столовая не справлялись с толпой жаждущих, которые усаживались за столы в шапках и шубах, курили махру, в качестве сувениров прихватывали вилки-ложки и не особенно церемонились с обслугой. Оставить одежду и котомки было негде, а без присмотра их нещадно перли мазурики, которых в то время развелось предостаточно.

Дворовая часть ДК быстро стала использоваться отнюдь не для культурных и просветительских целей. Ватер-клозет на три очка в доме имелся, но пользоваться им могли только работника Дома (канализация, между прочим, была выведена через примитивный отстойник прямо в Лососинку). Можно себе представить, во что превратились даже не очень укромные уголки территории. Словом, сразу же встал вопрос о строительстве общежития хотя бы на 150 мест.

Сама идея Дома крестьянина уже к завершению строительства оказалась неактуальной. Нэп сменился периодом коллективизации, которая выдвинула другие задачи, основанные на принципах огосударствления сельхозпроизводства. Генеральная линия теперь была иная - гнать вверх процент коллективизации.

Почему писатель Паустовский отказался гостить в ДК

Дом крестьянина даже чиновники уже стеснялись титуловать именем Ленина. Он зажил своей будничной жизнью, которая устраивала лишь самых непритязательных гостей Петрозаводска. Библиотеку и лекционный зал сильно потеснили или использовали отнюдь не по прямому назначению, что увеличило вместимость ДК еще на 20 койко-мест.

Приехавший в 1932 г. молодой писатель Константин Паустовский только один день мог вынести в стенах Дома. И это все при том, что внешне он очень ему нравился - московский гость оценил оригинальность архитектурного замысла и качество его воплощения. Но казарменная скученность самых разных людей настолько угнетала его, что оставшуюся неделю, связанную с поисками материала для будущей книги об Онегзаводе, Паустовский провел в другом месте. Приезжавшие в столицу Карелии из Москвы, Ленинграда или из-за границы по этой причине останавливались в ведомственных номерах или на квартирах у руководящих товарищей.

За первое полугодие 1933 г. петрозаводский Дом крестьянина принял всего около 2 тысяч колхозников и около 200 единоличников. Зато он приютил около четырех тысяч командированных совслужащих, причем почти тысячу - из-за пределов республики. Т.е. выполнял функции самой обычной гостиницы. Аналогичная метаморфоза произошла и с остальными ДК по всей России.

Петрозаводский Дом крестьянина с началом советско-финляндской войны передали в ведение наркомата обороны. К этому времени в Петрозаводске наконец-то добились строительства новой городской гостиницы на 200 койко-мест, так что в качестве дома приезжих ДК уже был не особенно нужен. После войны там был оборудован театр карело-финской драмы, потом филармония...

Сгорел на работе

Погорел бывший наш Дом крестьянина 11 сентября, в день авиаатаки Нью-Йорка. Причем покушение на ДК встало в ряд целой серии поджогов в центре Петрозаводска. Загорелась та часть здания, которую арендовали у Центра народного творчества владельцы бара, за счет которого, говорят, истинные владельцы здания (Министерство культуры) и сводили концы с концами. Если бы пламя спалило дом до основания, судьба его решилась бы однозначно: место расчистить и построить нечто очень нужное и современное. Место ведь, действительно, очень привлекательное - в центре города и на просторном живописном берегу Лососинки. Но здание уничтожено огнем частично, поэтому и дискуссия о его будущем вышла продолжительная.

Вкратце позиция архитекторов, художников, историков и краеведов такова. Лишаться такого деревянного украшения городу нельзя. Но и денег на его реставрацию тоже нет и не предвидится. Выход предлагают следующий. Пусть дом вместе с земельным участком выставят на торги. Но пусть тот, кто приобретет его, строит свой офис (ресторан, клуб, гостиницу) с сохранением экстерьера, т.е. внешнего вида здания периода 1929 г. Именно в это время дом представлял собой наиболее органичное воплощение архитектурного замысла его автора.

Пусть внутренняя планировка будет какой угодно, пусть начинят дом первоклассной современной техникой, но сохраните его самобытную внешность, господа будущие хозяева! Потому что каковы бы ни были неудачи с использованием уникального здания во все годы его истории, ценно оно для нас своим неповторимым оригинальным обликом. И никакое современное и крепкое здание на его месте никогда не восполнит утрату искусно выполненного теремка в духе народного зодчества.

Николай Кутьков

Дом крестьянина
Из истории народных домов в России

 

Создано 16 ноября 2000
Обновлено 16 июня 2003
© Администрация Главы РК
webmaster@gov.karelia.ru