The main page "Petrozavodsk - 300" 2003 - 300 Petrozavodsk "Karelia" The official government server
The Russian versionThe Finnish version
The main page "Petrozavodsk - 300"

The pages of the History The Republic of Karelia Today Glance into the Future News of the Site

To live by the lake is to be fond of fishing
The most popular passion of the Petrozavodsk citizens

The first constructions on the territory of the future city were not factory constructions, but small fishing log huts (tonyas) existing long before in the mouth of the river Lososinka. Hardly they have existed long near to Petrovsky factory. The river Lososinnitsa after construction of dams and factories replacing each other in the lower course quickly lost the glory of the salmons' river, in which in former times "any fish was caught: both whitefish, and small fish... and salmons all summer long... "

Mortning at the fish market

Logmozero and Shuya were also rich in valuable breeds of food fishes. Monks of Solomensky monastery from time to time had to sort out relationship with their neighbors, fishermen from Zaozerie, Sulazhgora, and Shuya, where the sources of the XVI century list either "weir", or "big weir", that is fishweirs, the partitions for catching salmon in the river. In XVIII century there were trials in Senate investigating disputable cases (growing into long conflicts) of local rich men (such as, for example, Petrozavodsk burgomaster Korotiaev) and peasants for the right of installation of fishweirs.

In the beginning of XIX century as a result of the similar conflict the Senate has ordered to destroy the dam at the flour-grinding mill of the landowner and businessman Peter Lachinov...

Petrozavodsk merchants in XVIII arranged their fishweirs more often in the place called Peski, but carried valuable fish in city reluctantly, since therethey were offered to sell unscaled salmon in 1780, for example, for 90 kopecks per pood and scaled for 1 rouble per pood. "On May 5, - ratmann (Ratmann, from German 'Rat' - council and 'Mann' - the person, elective members of city councils, town halls and archpriest boards in XVIII and XIX centuries) Michael Antsiferov reported, - I have seen, that there was no fresh fish at the quay, and Bezzubikov (the merchant) answered uncivilly: "I am neither a contractor to you, nor I have contracted to deliver salmons to you..."

The best trading from Petrozavodsk to St.Petersburg by the beginning of XIX century was "salty fish of different breeds and poultry...", and local dealers earned the capitals buying up the catch from the peasants cheap.

N.Ozeretskovsky, who has visited Petrozavodsk in 1785, has noted that in the mornings fishermen brought there (on the quay) by boats "generally whitefish and salty red fish, which exhaled rather nasty smell, notwithstanding, inhabitants bought it up like hot cakes... " (as against salty fish sold to St.Petersburg this was leavened in Karelian style).

In Peski in XIX century the city began to lease fishings to the interested persons for 3 years. As a rule, tenants were peasants of Sulazhgora and Zaozerie (in 1857 the income from these fishings was 20 roubles and 50 copecks, and in 1860 it was 47 roubles).

In 1890s the municipal duma has introduced tallage for mooring of fishing boats of 10 kopecks from an empty boat and 20 from a boat with a catch.

When the sterlet has appeared in Onego

More often coastal fishing season began one week prior to spring holiday of Nikola (May, 9), and the deep-sea fishing started by the end of May. The latest catching finished in the open lake. The most widespread in catching were perches, pikes, breams, white-fishes, smelts, salmons, and whitefishes. Regarding some breeds of the fishes seldom met in Onego the local fishermen made various assumptions and legends. For example, it was considered that occurrence of such fish as a sterlet in Onego is connected with the fact that the deputy T.I.Tutolmin in 1780th has decided to build a pond near the lake Logmozero and has ordered to bring there sterlets, catfishes and sturgeons, but the cage with them was broken at the Ivanovo islands, and the fish was escaped and then reproduced. Anyway in 1860s the sterlet was even referred by researcher Poliakov to the commercial catch.

Some of fishes were not count for fishes by Petrozavodsk citizens believing it to be snakes (eel). Fishermen had special dislike for the stickle-back since because of its gluttony the catch was sharply reduced in some places of the lake, by the end of XIX century there were lots of stickle-backs in the Petrozavodsk bay. Stickle-back was called "nasty" fish.

Islands and coast of Onega were built up with fishing small log huts (during the whitefish catching season women fished there on a par with men). Under the certificate of eyewitnesses, the amount of such small log huts on some islands reminded villages. Special popularity among fishermen of the city was gained by "Derevianskie ostrova", "Nemetskoye", "Pukhta", "Pesotchki".

Instead of wearing pants through in the office...

...On July 7, 1792 mister provincial public prosecutor has not found the head of the office of the local state institution Filimonov and registering clerk Romanov on their workplaces in the department. A police officer sent to their homes was "declared by their folks that they have left to lake Onego to fish..."

Many of Petrozavodsk small officials (their number in XIX century has considerably increased) receiving the scanty salaries were engaged the diversified works to support their families: preparation of brooms and haymaking, gathering of fire wood scattered by storms on the coast, and, certainly, fishery.

By XIX century they began to unite for fishing in small artels constant, as a rule, during the season. The artel consisted of 2-3 persons, but for distant (for 50-60 versts) fishing they could employed the fourth. (At the end of XIX century the fourth was paid 30 kopecks per day, fed, received tobacco, but the catch was divided for three). The members of the artel bought themselves a boat, collected instruments of catch, "ledger-baits", a grapnel for unhooking the hooked tackle, and a bag. The basic instrument of catch was so-called "maselga" (hunters under its name were called "maselschiks" in the city). Maselga was a very long thin cord (up to 1.5 kms) with ropes every 5-8 meters adhered with hooks fastened on their ends. Small fish like smelt or whitefish was baited on hooks. After every 50-100 hooks the sinker stones were adhered to the cords, and after every 10 hooks there were floats. Maselga was used for catching palias and salmons, and was set from the boat. There were about 100 hooks on maselga, and it cost 1-3 roubles (constant artels always possessed their own maselgas). Depending on the number of hooks (from 1000 to 300) it was the catch was distributed: the last received 1/3 of the catch, but bosom friends divided it in equal parts.

The members of the artel rowed by turns, set fishing nets: while one pair sets, another cooks meal. Maselgas were taken out by turns, and then the fishers went to the harbor having shared the catch. Having paid 20 kopecks for a boat, officials sold surpluses of fish to local dealers. And the next Saturday after 3 o'clock in the afternoon the strollers on quay of Petrozavodsk could observe again unusual vanity prevailing here amazed "with subjects, dressed up in suits no more afraid of dirties, neither fading, nor ripping, some had multi-colored patches, they dragged sails, other had fishing shells, usual copper teapots and dixies..."

For the majority fishing was the remarkable weekend vacation. Konstantin Eremeev (also serving as the official of State Chamber in due time) wrote that almost all youth of the city were "hunters and fishers of hares, heath-cocks, ducks, salmons and palias".

What became of fish

...By the end of XIX century efficiency of fishery on Onego began to fall appreciably. For studying the reasons in 1895 the Ministry of Agriculture and State Property sent the ichthyologist and fish breeder Nickolay Nikiforovich Pushkarev to Petrozavodsk, whose first result of work became the book "Fishery on Onego" published in St.Petersburg in 1900. Pushkarev has offered a number of measures for restoration of the balance broken by men, among which there was a struggle against pollution of waters, catch of stickle-back as the wrecker of fish economy, etc. The following measure offered by Pushkarev in 1913 (the scientist continued to cooperate actively with Olonets zemstvo) was construction of a fish-breeding factory in Petrozavodsk with the purpose of cultivation of salmon, palia and trouts.

Published in the newspaper Karelia N30 on March 21, 2002

 

Created November 16, 2000
Last Updated June 17, 2003
© The Administration of the Head of the Government of RK
webmaster@gov.karelia.ru

Перейти на главную страницу сайта "Петрозаводск - 300 лет" в 2003 году исполняется 300 лет городу Петрозаводск Региональный сервер "Карелия" Официальный сервер органов государственой власти Республики Карелия
Английская версияФинская версия
Перейти на главную страницу сайта "Петрозаводск - 300 лет"

Страницы истории Карелия сегодня Взгляд в будущее Новое на сайте

На озере жить и рыбалку не любить?!
Самое массовое увлечение петрозаводчан

Первыми постройками на территории будущего города были не заводские сооружения, а существовавшие задолго до их появления в устье реки Лососинки рыбацкие избушки (тони). Вряд ли они долго просуществовали рядом с петровским заводом. Сама же река Лососинница со строительством плотин и сменявших друг друга в нижнем течении заводов быстро утрачивала свою славу "лососьей" реки, в которой некогда "ловилась всякая рыба: и ряпушка, и мелкая рыба... лососи и торпа во все лето..."

Утро на рыбном базаре

Богаты были ценными породами промысловых рыб также Логмозеро и Шуя. Монахи Соломенского монастыря время от времени выясняли отношения с соседями-рыбаками из Заозерья, Сулажгоры, Шуи, где на реке источники XVI века перечисляют то "кол", то "кол большой", то есть заколы - перегородки для ловли семги. В XVIII веке Сенат разбирал спорные дела (перераставшие в затяжные конфликты) местных богатеев (таких как, например, петрозаводский бургомистр Коротяев) с крестьянами за право установки заколов.

В начале XIX века Сенат в результате подобного конфликта приказал уничтожить плотину при мукомольной мельнице помещика и предпринимателя Петра Лачинова...

Петрозаводские купцы в XVIII в. устраивали заколы чаще всего в местечке Пески, но ценную рыбу в город везли неохотно, здесь им предлагали в 1780 г., например, лосося продавать за 90 коп. пуд нечищенного и за 1 рубль - пуд чищенного. "5 мая, - докладывал ратман Михаил Анциферов, - я усмотрел, что на рыбной пристани свежей рыбы нет, а Беззубиков (купец) неучтиво отвечал: "Я не подрядчик тебе и не подрядился лососи тебе ставить..."

Лучший торг из Петрозаводска в Петербург к началу XIX века был "соленою разных пород рыбою и дикою птицею...", и местные торговцы, скупая по дешевке у крестьян улов, зарабатывали свои капиталы.

Н. Озерецковский, посетивший Петрозаводск в 1785 г., отметил, что по утрам привозили туда (на пристань) рыбаки на лодках "по большей части ряпушку и соленую палью, которая весьма противный испускала запах, несмотря на то, жители раскупали ее на подхват..." (в отличие от продаваемой в Петербург соленой рыбы эта была, так называемой, "межонной" и была заквашена по-карельски).

В Песках рыбные ловли в XIX веке город стал сдавать в аренду на 3 года желающим. Как правило, арендаторами становились крестьяне Сулажгоры и Заозерья (в 1857 году с этих рыбных ловель в доход поступило 20 рублей 50 копеек, в 1860 - 47 рублей).

В 1890-е гг. городская дума ввела сборы за причал рыбацких лодок 10 копеек с пустой лодки и 20 - с уловом.

Как появилась в Онеге стерлядь

Чаще всего прибрежный лов начинался за неделю до весеннего Николы (9 мая), а глубевой - с конца мая. Заканчивалась ловля позже всего в открытом месте. Самыми распространенными в добыче были окунь, щука, лещ, сиг, корюшка, лосось, ряпушка. По поводу отдельных пород рыб, редко встречавшихся в Онежском озере, местные рыбаки высказывали различные предположения-легенды. Например, считалось, что появление в Онего такой рыбы, как стерлядь, связано с тем, что наместник Т.И. Тутолмин в 1780-е гг. решил устроить около озера Логмозера пруд и приказал привезти туда стерлядей, сомов и осетров, но садок с ними разбился у Ивановских островов, и рыба размножилась. Во всяком случае еще в 1860-е годы стерлядь была даже отнесена исследователем Поляковым к числу промысловых.

Некоторых из рыб петрозаводчане вообще не считали за рыб, полагая, что это змеи (угорь). Особой нелюбовью рыбаков пользовалась колюшка, из-за прожорливости которой в некоторых местах озера промысел резко сократился, в том числе к концу XIX века колюшки стало много в Петрозаводской губе. Колюшку называли "поганой" рыбой.

Острова и берега Онежского озера были застроены рыбацкими избушками (во время ловли ряпушки там наравне с мужчинами рыбачили и женщины). По свидетельству очевидцев, на некоторых из островов количество таких избушек напоминало деревеньки. Особой популярностью у рыбаков города пользовались "Деревянские острова", "Немецкое", "Пухта", "Песочки".

Чем штаны в канцелярии протирать...

... 7 июля 1792 года господин губернский прокурор не обнаружил на рабочих местах в департаменте столоначальника Филимонова и протоколиста Романова. Посланному к ним "в домы" приставу "домашними было объявлено, что они ушли на озеро Онего ловить рыбу..."

Многие из мелких петрозаводских чиновников (число их в XIX веке значительно возросло) занимались, получая мизерное жалованье, самыми разнообразными работами, чтобы прокормить семью: заготовкой веников и сенокосами, сбором дров, разбросанных бурей по берегу, и, конечно, рыболовством.

К XIX веку они стали объединяться для рыбной ловли в небольшие артели, как правило постоянные в течение сезона. Артель состояла из 2-3 человек, но если предстояла дальняя (за 50-60 верст) рыбалка, то нанимали и четвертого. (Платили четвертому в конце XIX века по 30 копеек в сутки, кормили, давали табак - но добычу делили на троих). Артельщики покупали себе лодку, собирали орудия лова, "наживку", "ергу" (кошку для отцепливания зацепившейся снасти), сак. Основным орудием лова была так называемая "масельга" (ловцов по ее названию в городе называли "масельщиками"). Масельга представляла собой очень длинную тонкую веревку (до 1,5 км), на которую через расстояние в 5-8 метров привязывали веревочки, на концах которых крепились крючки. На крючки наживлялась мелкая рыбешка (корюшка, ряпушка). Через 50-100 уд на веревках были привязаны камни-грузила, а через 10 уд - поплавки. Масельгу использовали для лова палии и лосося и ставили с одной лодки. Крючков на масельге было около 100 штук, и стоила она 1-3 рубля (в постоянных артелях всегда были собственные масельги). В зависимости от числа крючков (у одного 1000 у другого - 300) распределялся и улов: последний получал 1/3 добычи, но закадычные друзья делили все пополам.

Артельщики по очереди гребли, по очереди ставили сети: одна пара ставит, другая готовит еду. Масельги вынимали по очереди, разделив улов, заезжали в гавань. Заплатив за лодку 20 копеек, чиновники продавали излишки рыбы местным торговцам. А в следующую субботу после 3 часов дня прогуливающиеся по набережной Петрозаводска опять наблюдали господствовавшую здесь необычную суету, поражались "субъектами, разодетыми в такие костюмы, которым нечего уже бояться ни грязи, ни линянья, ни рвания, на некоторых были видны заплаты, иногда разноцветные, одни тащили паруса, другие рыболовные снаряды, обычные медные чайники и котелки..."

Рыбалка для большинства была замечательным отдыхом, завершающим рабочую неделю. Константин Еремеев (также служивший в свое время чиновником Казенной палаты) писал, что чуть ли не вся молодежь города - "охотники и рыболовы - на зайцев, косачей, уток, лосося и палью".

Куда рыба делась

... К концу XIX века продуктивность рыболовства на Онего стала заметно падать. Для изучения причин в 1895 году Министерство земледелия и государственных имуществ командировало в Петрозаводск ихтиолога и рыбовода Пушкарева Николая Никифоровича, первым итогом работы которого стала вышедшая в Петербурге в 1900 г. книга "Рыболовство на Онежском озере". Пушкарев предложил ряд мер для восстановления нарушенного человеком равновесия, среди которых была борьба с загрязнением вод, вылов колюшки как вредителя рыбного хозяйства и другие. Следующей мерой, предложенной Пушкаревым уже в 1913 году (ученый продолжал активно сотрудничать с олонецким земством), было строительство в Петрозаводске рыбоводного завода с целью разведения лосося, палии и форели.

Материал опубликован в газете "Карелия" N30 от 21 марта 2002г.

 

Создано 16 ноября 2000
Обновлено 16 июня 2003
© Администрация Главы РК
webmaster@gov.karelia.ru